NC students receive Ontario Volunteer Service Awards


Lesley Calvin, manager of Student Engagement and Leadership (left) stands with award recipients (from second left) Naasson Huyler, Miranda Ross, Libby Chepurnyj, Mamta Saulick, and Dacotah Harvey, as well as student engagement coordinator Jeff Sinclair (right) at the 2015 Ontario Service Awards ceremony held on May 21 at Club Italia in Niagara Falls.

Congratulations to nine Niagara College students who were recently honoured by the  Ministry of Citizenship for their volunteer involvement.

The students were nominated  for  Volunteer Service Awards by various staff and faculty for their engagement and leadership. Recipients included:

Venus Lim  (Bachelor of Business, ICOM ) for five years of volunteering service in the adult category.  Lim has been actively involved during her years as a student and also prior to that when she came through the small business program.  Her volunteering includes Enactus president, peer mentor, international events and local social justice issues.

Adrienne Tse (Culinary Innovation and Food Technology) for two years of service in the youth category.  Tse has been involved in LEAD, peer mentoring, Grape and Wine festival, and local environmental and food security issues.

Dacotah (Cody) Harvey (Computer Programming Analyst) for two years in the youth category.  Harvey  has been actively involved in promoting technology and computer programming to high school students.

Mamta Saulick  (Law Clerk) for two years in the youth category.  Saulick has been actively involved in LEAD, international events, environment and sustainability, and promoting intercultural awareness and social justice both on and off campus.

Erica Danielsson (Bachelor of Business Administration, Hospitality) for two years in the youth category.  Danielsson has been actively involved in LEAD, and coordinating cultural and international events.

Libby Chepurnyj  (Hairstyling) for two years in the youth category.  Chepurnyj has volunteered for community events and fundraisers while studying hairstyling and previously as a student in the esthetics program.

Matthew Burnip (Bachelor of Business, ICOM) for two years in the youth category. Burnip is involved with LEAD, and has volunteered on campus and as an orientation leader.

Miranda Ross (Paramedic) for two years in the youth category. Ross has been the captain of the women’s basketball team for two years, and volunteered in the community with youth athletic programs.

Naasson Huyler (Human Resources Diploma) for two years in the youth category. Huyler has been active in LEAD, [email protected], on campus events such as spring open house, and an orientation leader.

NC student Adrienne Tse receives an Ontario Volunteer Service Award at a May 20 ceremony.  She is pictured with Niagara Falls MPP Wayne Gates and St. Catharines MPP Jim Bradley.

Share this article